Make THIS for Dinner Tonight

A few days ago my parents were out of town for dinner. Coming home from a track meet late at night I was scrambling to find something I could make quickly, with ingredients around the house. After a quick google search I found a recipe that I thought was “good enough” off of some random site and set off to make it. While I wasn’t very excited about the recipe it looked healthy and fast– and the ingredients were already in my kitchen so I set off making it. Thirty minutes later I was copying the recipe down into a list of my favorites and just had to share it.

The “Quick Chicken Piccata” I made called for–

The directions were well written and easy to follow instructing me to–

  1. Place chicken breasts between 2 layers of plastic wrap and pound to about 1/2-inch thick.
  2. Season both sides of chicken breasts with cayenne, salt, and black pepper; dredge lightly in flour and shake off any excess.
  3. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Place chicken in the pan, reduce heat to medium, and cook until browned and cooked through, about 5 minutes per side; remove to a plate.
  4. Cook capers in reserved oil, smashing them lightly to release brine, until warmed though, about 30 seconds.
  5. Pour white wine into skillet. Scrape any browned bits from the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Cook until reduced by half, about 2 minutes.
  6. Stir lemon juice, water, and butter into the reduced wine mixture; cook and stir continuously to form a thick sauce, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low and stir parsley through the sauce.
  7. Return chicken breasts to the pan cook until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Serve with sauce spooned over the top.

I followed this exactly as it said and it turned out great! While I’m normally one to change recipes as I go this one turned out perfectly done and really flavorful. Done i3067683n 25 minutes and paired with balsamic asparagus it was wonderful!

One thought on “Make THIS for Dinner Tonight

Leave a Reply

